Scotscraig Golf Club was founded in 1817 by some members of the St. Andrews Society of Golfers (later to become the Royal and Ancient Golf Club) who wished to play more golf than the Society's occasional meetings afforded them. 

We are lucky here to have so much history and are proud of all the fantastic landmarks connected with the club, some of these are:

  1. The 13th Oldest Golf Club in the World
  2. Championship course , designed under the guidance of Tom Morris & James Braid
  3. A unique mix of Heathland & Links
  4. A 6 time former Open Qualifier venue (1984-2010)
  5. Gold Medal, which started in 1818, is one of the oldest medals still played for in golf
  6. 120 year old clubhouse, opened in 1896
  7. Celebrating its Bicentenary in 2017 (200 years old)

The layout of the course was altered in time for the 1893 medal, having been extended to 9 holes.

The holes in playing order were:-

  1. The Admiral's
  2. The Whin's
  3. The Pond
  4. The Burn
  5. The Wood
  6. The Railway Bridge
  7. The pot
  8. The Toll
  9. The Home

The clubhouse being now 120 years old was built and the original cost was £699.15s.10d, plus £101.7s.7d for furnishings. A very small cost compared to building a modern day clubhouse.

In 1923, the course was redesigned with the assistance of James Braid, one of the "Triumvirate". The course still retains many of Braid's traditional architectural features, namely large rolling greens and well positioned bunkers. Scotscraig today is largely unchanged, and presents a fair but serious challenge to all golfers.

We have been the host to a lot of prestigious tournaments such as:

  1. Final "Open" qualifying (1984-2010)
  2. Scottish seniors championship (2002)
  3. Ladies Home Internationals (2013)
  4. Scottish boys matchplay (2017)
  5. Prestigious events in Bicentenary year (2017)